Lake Michigan Chicago Illinois

Lake Michigan

Lake Michigan is one of the five Great Lakes of North America. It is bounded, in a clockwise direction from the south, by the U.S. states of Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Michigan.

The word "Michigan" was originally used to refer to the lake itself, and is believed to come from the Ojibwa Indian word mishigami, meaning "great water."

Some 12 million people live along Lake Michigan’s shores. Many small cities in Northern Michigan are centered around a tourist base that takes advantage of the beauty and recreational opportunities offered by Lake Michigan. These cities have large seasonal populations that arrive from Chicago and inland cities in Southern Michigan. The southern tip of the lake is heavily industrialized. Cities on the shores of Lake Michigan with populations larger than 30,000 include: Chicago, Evanston, Highland Park, North Chicago, and Waukegan.

The Chicago Skyline can be seen from the Indiana shore and parts of extreme southwest Michigan and southeastern Wisconsin.